$105 For A Parking Ticket!!!!!

Discussion in 'New York' started by morgan_mr, Mar 1, 2003.

Draft saved Draft deleted
  1. justme

justme <i>pop and click tainted</i> Vinyl ( is dead )

Do you have to get permission from the state AG to file suit against a state or local agency up there?
  2. morgan_mr

morgan_mr

I'm no lawyer, but this kind of stuff sickens me.....
  3. Daniel_NYC

Daniel_NYC

True Story

A 16 year old was stealing cars for a chop shop. He had no license but was driving down the street when he heard sirens and saw lights coming up behind him.

He panicked and went through a red light where another cop car with lights and sirens t-boned him in the intersection.

The cops were responding to some other emergency, the kid just assumed that they were coming for him.

Well this kid got no jail time and turned around and sued the city because in the accident, he broke his legs and can't get around that well anymore.

The case went to a jury trial, where the judge ruled that the following things could not be mentioned in the court room:

That the car he was driving in was not his and in fact stolen.
    That he did not have a license to drive.
    That he went through the red light.

All the jury heard was this kid was driving down the street, minding his own buisness, when a speeding police car collided with the vehicle he was driving and caused him physical harm.

The jury awarded him in the 10's of millions of dollars, because he had his whole life in front of him and is now a cripple.

Now you know why Bloomberg want's to put a cap on tort litigations.

The other problem is this:
    The Corporation Counsel (The entity that defends the city against allegations such as this) is notoriously staffed with "green", didn't do so great in law school attorneys, who are no match for these high profile "I smell a big pay day lawyers".