Law Degree

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by jasonbuju, Feb 4, 2003.

Draft saved Draft deleted
  1. jasonbuju

jasonbuju

just a quick note of thanks to the feedback both here and also from a couple of folks on wednesday who took the time out between tits and ass to put in a few words.
  2. Fit Bastard

Fit Bastard

ps:

I know what you mean about cutting thru the bullshit. When an opposing attorney sends me a contract knowing my backround he treats me completely differently than if I was a layman. I get amused when you don't divulge your backround and you speak to them on their level but they still treat you like a moron. What assholes they can be. Ever happen to you?
  3. pswope

pswope One out of three

If your career intention is to become a entrepreneur/businessman,where assesment of risk/reward is a key criteria to financial success,then legal training would be extremely harmful. The institution of law,in my experience,is risk averse and designed to immunize lawyers from negative fall out from their advice. While some attorneys transcend this limitation and succesfully unshackle themselves from this type of thinking, the vastmajority I have encountered do not.

If you deign to move up in corporate management,then legal training would not be as harmful and depending upon the industry you work,could be helpful.

As an ex-atty,now garmento businessman, the most useful aspect of my education and experience as an atty,is the ability to parse thru the bullshit shoveled at me by my and the attorneys for the parties I do deals with.
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2003
  4. Fit Bastard

Fit Bastard