PC case fans

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by justbill_redux, Mar 9, 2006.

Draft saved Draft deleted
  1. justbill_redux

justbill_redux King Missile

I do and I am too. I go back to the days of IBM old iron the 360/370s, worked on the 1st IBM office PCs that had single sided 5.4 floppy drives and a whooping 64K worth of memory not to mention MTSTs and Mag Cards that had planar boards. No argument that static electric can fuck a system up which is why I use a static wrist strap when I have to do shit like swap out case fans. And when I vacuum I have a special kit thats made for computers whose end nozzles are made out of plastic.

No doubt we could swap stories on the earlier desk air cleaners/ionizers that when placed to close to the PC would cause all sort of weird problems.
  2. genius

genius

Trust me on this - I'm an expert in this subject (yawn). Static problems are insidious because there is hardly ever a large crackling spark and nothing goes Kaboom! when the damage happens. CMOS and MOS components (your computer is full of them) are easy damaged by static voltages that can be generated from the air rushing over a vacuum clearers hose (think of rubbing a balloon against your wool shirt and see how it picks up lint due to static electricity - high voltage but low energy, so you don't feel any shock. In the early days of electronic manufacturing with these parts it was not uncommon to have 20% of product returned because of premature failure due to static elctricity damage (If you're lucky the part is defective right way - if not lucky part of the component gets weakened which overloads the remainder causing premature failure.)
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2006
  3. justbill_redux